Home > Richard Wurmbrand > Quotes from Richard Wurmbrand

Quotes from Richard Wurmbrand

Below are a few quotes from My favourite author the Romanian Pastor Richard Wurmbrand. I hope they inspire and maybe even shock you. Happy reading.

“The language of love and the language of seduction are the same. The one who wishes a girl for a wife and the one who wishes her for only a night both say the words, “I love you.” Jesus has told us to discern between the language of seduction and the language of love, and to know the wolves clad in sheepskin from the real sheep.” Tortured For Christ

“As there are many who believe they are Christians and in reality are not, we found that among the Russians there are many who believe they are atheists, but in reality they are not.” Tortured For Christ

“Men asked, ‘How is it that a God of love permits the triumph of evil?’… The Christian faith has an answer to such questions. For instance, Jesus told us about Lazarus, a poor beggar, oppressed as we were oppressed—dying, hungry, his wounds being licked by dogs—but in the end, angels took him to Abraham’s bosom.” Tortured For Christ

“The tortures and brutality continued without interruption. When I lost consciousness or be­came too dazed to give the torturers any further hopes of confession, I would be returned to my cell. There I would lie, untended and half dead, to regain a little strength so they could work on me again. Many died at this stage, but somehow my strength always managed to return. In the ensuing years, in several different prisons, they broke four vertebrae in my back, and many other bones. They carved me in a dozen places. They burned and cut eighteen holes in my body. When my family and I were ransomed out of Romania and brought to Norway, doctors in Oslo, seeing all this and the scars in my lungs from tuberculosis, declared that my being alive today is a pure miracle! Accord­ing to their medical books, I should have been dead for years. I know myself that it is a miracle. God is a God of miracles. I believe God performed this wonder so that you could hear my voice crying out on behalf of the Underground Church in persecuted countries. He allowed one to come out alive and cry aloud the message of your suffering, faithful brethren.” Tortured For Christ

“The following scene happened more times than I can remember. A brother was preaching to the other prisoners when the guards suddenly burst in, surprising him halfway through a phrase. They hauled him down the corridor to their beating room. After what seemed an endless beating, they brought him back and threw him—bloody and bruised—on the prison floor. Slowly, he picked up his battered body, painfully straightened his clothing and said, ‘Now, brethren, where did I leave off when I was interrupted?’ He continued his gospel message! I have seen beautiful things!” Tortured For Christ

“One great lesson arose from all the beatings, tortures, and butchery of the Communists: that the spirit is master of the body. We felt the torture, but it often seemed as something distant and far removed from the spirit which was lost in the glory of Christ and His presence with us. When we were given one slice of bread a week and dirty soup every day, we decided we would faithfully “tithe” even then. Every tenth week we took the slice of bread and gave it to weaker brethren as our “tithe” to the Master.” Tortured For Christ

“In solitary confinement, we could not pray as before. We were unimaginably hungry; we had been drugged until we acted like idiots. We were as weak as skeletons. The Lord’s Prayer was much too long for us—we could not concentrate enough to say it. My only prayer repeated again and again was, ‘Jesus, I love You.’ And then, one glorious day I got the answer from Jesus: ‘You love me? Now I will show you how I love you.’ At once, I felt a flame in my heart, which burned like the coronal streamers of the sun. The disciples on the way to Emmaus said that their hearts burned when Jesus spoke with them. So it was with me. I knew the love of the One who gave His life on the cross for us all.” Tortured For Christ

“God sees things differently than we see them, just as we see differently than an ant. From the human point of view, to be tied to a cross and smeared with excrement is a horrible thing. Nonetheless, the Bible calls the sufferings of martyrs light afflictions. To be in prison for fourteen years is a long period to us. The Bible calls it ‘but for a moment,’ and tells us that these things are working for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory (2Co 4:17). This gives us the right to suppose that the fierce crimes of the Communists, which are inexcusable to us, are lighter in the eyes of God than they are in our eyes. Their tyranny, which has lasted almost an entire century, may be before God, for whom a thousand years are like one day, only a moment of erring astray. They still have the possibility of being saved.” Tortured For Christ

“In our darkest hours of torture, the Son of Man came to us, making the prison walls shine like diamonds and filling the cells with light. Somewhere, far away, were the torturers below us in the sphere of the body. But the spirit rejoiced in the Lord. We would not have given up this joy for that of kingly palaces.” Tortured For Christ

“We of the Underground Church have no cathedrals. But is any cathedral more beautiful than the sky of heaven to which we looked when we gathered secretly in forests? The chirping of birds took the place of the organ. The fragrance of flowers was our incense. And the shabby suit of a martyr recently freed from prison was much more impressive than priestly robes. We had the moon and stars as candles. The angels were our acolytes who lit them.” Tortured For Christ

  1. July 4, 2013 at 7:07 am | #1

    I’m starting a new online blog directory and was wanting to know if I can submit your website? I’m trying to increase my directory slowly by hand so that it maintains top quality.

    I’ll make sure and put your blog in the best category and I’ll additionally use, “Quotes from Richard Wurmbrand | The Rambling Believer” as your anchor text.
    Please let me know if this is ok with you by contacting me at:
    laureljankowski@gmail.com. Thankyou

  2. July 18, 2013 at 7:07 pm | #2

    I am sure this paragraph has touched all the internet viewers, its really really pleasant article on building
    up new web site.

  3. July 26, 2013 at 11:35 am | #3

    I am from the North and that i do not desire to encounter as biassed but you happen to be
    possibly right. Despite the fact that, what would daily life be like with out Sicilians in it?
    ?!!

  4. July 31, 2013 at 11:16 am | #4

    Due to the fact I’m A huge dude with not alot of alternatives. I am at the finish of my rope. And it sucks because what exactly is on the market doesn’t
    cater to us whatsoever. There is 1,000,000 BBW
    sites. Demonstrate us some love for once!!

  5. August 4, 2013 at 7:41 am | #5

    Sweet blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.

    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Cheers

  6. March 13, 2014 at 4:24 am | #6

    Wow, this article is nice, my younger sister is analyzing these things, thus I am going to
    convey her.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

